Private islands and tier fees

30Oct06

There’s been a massive amount of stuff written about the increase in fees and start up costs for private islands, much of which is a little over the top. However, there’s one question that I think is pertinent: when I can rent a dedicated server with decent amounts of bandwidth for around $200 a month with a couple of hundred set up fee, why should I pay Linden what amounts to $300 plus $1700 set up for for something that delivers less performance – so much so that I very much doubt they’re running private islands on their own individual server.

Long term, Linden will have to move to a distributed architecture (where you run your own sim on your own machine, with Linden acting as a transaction engine between servers) if it’s to survive. I have a lot of spare computational power in my house, but I don’t have a lot of dollars. I’d be happy to pay a reduced set up and tier fee to effectively donate some of it to Linden Labs.



One Response to “Private islands and tier fees”

  1. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specifically the remaining phase 🙂 I take care of such information much. I used to be seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.


Leave a comment